Making 50k

Can’t talk; noveling!

Like most writers short on sanity and long on ambition, I started Nanowrimo today. I’ve got the first 3,407 words of my novel off to a decent start but it’s a marathon, not a sprint. I’ve set reasonable goals based on when I’m working and my typical writing rate in years past, but I’ll be satisfied if I fall a little short of that.

This year I’m only working on one project, Dragonspire. My goal is to get a significant chunk of writing toward the first draft banged out, but as usual, I probably won’t finish the entire novel in November. And that’s totally normal–a usable first draft of a novel typically takes more than a month anyhow.

I have my own tips and tricks, but for tonight, check out Chuck Wendig’s 25 Things You Should Know About Nanowrimo. His tips strike a pretty good balance of practicality and motivation, in this veteran Nano-er’s opinion.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve put you all on notice. I won’t be blogging this month unless I’m procrastinating from my writing. Have a great month, everyone!

Leave a comment